Mississippi Delays Accelerated Tax Payment Threshold Increase

An increase in the amount of average monthly tax liability which triggers the requirement for early payment of Mississippi sales and use taxes has been delayed until July 1, 2012 by Mississippi House Bill 1059. Originally slated to being in 2010, a taxpayer having an average monthly sales and/or use tax liability of at least $50,000 (currently $20,000) for the preceding calendar year must make an estimated payment of its sales and/or use tax liability for the month of June no later than June 25 each year. The payment must be equal to at least 75% of the taxpayer’s estimated sales and/or use tax liability for June of the current calendar year or the taxpayer’s sales and/or use tax liability for June of the preceding calendar year. As this change will take effect in July 1, 2012, the first payment using the new threshold amount will be due June 25, 2013. The taxpayer will not need to include taxes due on credit sales for which the taxpayer has not received payment before June 20. Additional rules and regulations apply. (H.B. 1059, Laws 2010, effective May 21, 2010)

Posted on June 10, 2010