Louisiana Enacts Exemption for Antique Cars

Effective July 1, 2019, sales of antique motor vehicles are exempt from Louisiana state and local sales and use tax. Per the legislation, an antique motor vehicle is a motor vehicle that was manufactured at least 25 years ago, is not used for commercial purposes, and is valued in excess of $10,000. Although there is no sales tax on these vehicles, the fee for licensing these antique motor vehicles is increased from $25 to $1,000. (Act 364 (H.B. 569), Laws 2019)

Posted on June 27, 2019