Tennessee Makes Changes to Professions Subject to Professional Privilege Tax

Effective June 1, 2020, only the following professions are subject to Tennessee’s professional privilege tax:

  • Agent (Securities)
  • Attorney
  • Broker-Dealer
  • Investment Adviser
  • Lobbyist
  • Osteopathic Physician
  • Physician

The following professions previously subject to the professional privilege tax will be exempt beginning on June 1, 2020: Accountant, Architect, Audiologist, Chiropractor, Dentist, Engineer, Landscape Architect, Optometrist, Pharmacist, Podiatrist, Psychologist, Real Estate Principal Broker, Speech Pathologist, Sports Agent, and Veterinarian.

Tennessee’s professional privilege tax is due on June 1 of each year. Individuals who are registered or licensed to practice in more than one of the professions subject to the tax are only required to pay the $400 tax once per year. (Important Notice No. 19-15, Tennessee Department of Revenue, August 2019)

Posted on August 19, 2019